Grand Tour Edition
Advertise Now

Nigeria
Black History
Contacts
Cultural
Festivals
Flashback
Nigeria Maps
Osun Festival
Photos 1
Photos 2
Photos 3
Photos 4
Slave Route
Speaker Profiles

Project Info:
Peace Parks
Peace Photos
World Monuments WTO Projects


Africa Travel Magazine animated logo links to Interactive Map of African Tourism Destinations

Nigeria: A tourism destination full of challenges


OSUN FESTIVAL

Osun was one of the wives of Sango, the god of Thunder and former king of Oyo. She is widely worshipped in Yorubaland, particularly in the counĚtryside through which the river Osun flows. The water of Osun is said to have the power of making barren women fertile. Her most important sancĚtuaries are in Oshogbo, which is contracted from 'Oso Igbo', or spirit of the forest, centered around a palace shrine where the chief priest performs rites and rituals.

Here's what they said last year.   TODAY, August 26, 2004, the Osun State government is rolling out the drums. It is to celebrate her sons and daughters who, in their various ways, had built the chips and blocks that constitute the success of the state

http://www.nigeriaembassyusa.org/culture1.shtml

 

NIGERIAN EMBASSY WASHINGTON, DC CONTACTS:

Ambassador

His Excellency Professor George A. Obiozor

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary

Tel: (202) 986-8414/8415

Fax: (202) 362-6552

 

Mr. A.O. Babalola - Special Assistant to His Excellency (SAHE)

Tel: (202) 986-8400 ext.1095;

Fax: (202) 362-6552

babalola@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Minister

Mr. A.O. Soyombo

Tel: (202) 986-8419, 8402; Fax: (202) 362-6924

soyombo@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Political Section

Mr. Umunna H. Orjiako - Minister

Tel: (202 986-8400; Fax: (202) 362-6593

orjiako@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Mr. James T. Medugu - Counsellor

Tel: (202) 986-8421; Fax: (202) 483-1482

Medugu@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Mrs. M.N. Obidi

Tel: (202) 986-8423; Fax: (202) 362-6981

obidi@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Economic Section

 

Mr. Enaruna E. Imohe, mni - Minister

Tel: (202 986-8400; Fax: (202) 362-6593

Imohe@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Mr. O.O. Orevba - Senior Counsellor

Tel: (202) 822-1502; Fax: (202) 775-1385

orevba@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Mrs. M.C. Ekeocha

Tel: (202) 986-8400 ext. 1057; Fax: (202) 362-6981

ekocha@nigeraembassyusa.org

 

Administration Section

 

Mr. Felix Y. Pwol - Minister (Head of Chancery)

Tel: (202) 986-8400 ext. 1071; Fax (202) 362-6891

pwol@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Mrs. Mary Ekatah

Tel: (202) 986-8400; Fax: (202) 362-6981

ekatah@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Consular & Immigration Section

 

Mr. Ahmed Umar - Minister Counsellor

Tel: (202) 986-8400 ext. 1005; Fax: (202) 362-5684

umar@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Protocol, Information, Education,

& Communications Section

 

Mr. M. Bello - Counsellor

Tel: (202) 986-8400 ext. 1090; Fax: (202) 362-6981

bello@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Finance Section

 

Mr. N.A. Njoku - Finance Attaché

Tel: (202) 986-8429; Fax: (202) 986-0892

njoku@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Mrs. O.O. Durojaiye - Assistant Finance Attache

Tel: (202) 822-1508; Fax: (202) 775-1385

durojaiye@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Communications Section

 

Mr. E.O. Idegwu - Third Secretary

Tel: (202) 986-8400 ext. 1043; Fax: (202) 362-6541

idegwu@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Mrs. C.B. Owolabi

Tel: (202) 986-8400 ext. 1075; Fax: (202) 362-6981

Owolabi@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Defence Section

 

Group Captain Adebiyi R. Okanlawon - Defence and Air Adviser

Tel: (202) 985-8409; Fax: (202) 362-5610

daa@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Colonel Geoffrey O. Onyejegbu - Deputy Defence Attaché (Army)

Tel: (202) 986-8406; Fax: (202) 362-4976

ddaarmy@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Captain Gabriel Okoi - Naval Attaché

Tel: (202) 986-8405; Fax: (202) 362-5182

okoi@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Lt. Col. Cyril U. Agulana - Deputy Defence Attaché (Finance)

Tel: (202) 986-8484; Fax (202) 362-5182

agulana@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

Major James N. Akaraiwe - Assistant Defence Attaché

Tel: (202) 986-8407; Fax: (202) 362-5182

akaraiwe@nigeriaembassyusa.org

 

WO Isiaka Hassan (PA Defence) Attaché (202) 986-8400 ext. 1032

WO Jimoh Ohieku (PA Military) Attaché (202) 986-8400 ext. 1031

Fax: (202) 986-1681